Home · Reviews

It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year

That’s right people it’s Halloween!  And if you know me personally you know that I LOVE Halloween.  If you don’t know me then this is something you will learn about me.

So today I thought that I would make a little post of books to read during this wonderful time of the year.  (Note some of these may have adult situations and are not YA.)

So let’s kick this off with my top ten books to read during the wonderful month of October.

10. A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness

8667848

So I read this book every fall because it is one of my all time favorite books.  It is about a witch named Diana who falls in love with a vampire named Matthew.  The two undergo a lot of problems and have to deal with the government of all supernatural creatures coming down on them for being in love because that is a huge no-no.  What better book to read during the month of Halloween but a book about witches, vampires, and daemons.

9.  Made For You by Melissa Marr

20419003

This isn’t about witches, or vampires, or werewolves, this is about a stalker.  I highly recommend this because it will have you on the edge of your seat wondering who the stalker is and why is he doing what he’s doing.  I am a huge fan of books and films like this (I love the Scream movies), so I jumped at the chance to read this.

8.  Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

6304335

Doesn’t that cover scream Halloween?  I think this is the perfect book to read during the Halloween season because it deals with witches that call themselves Casters.  You have light and dark Casters in this little town of Gatlin and things get a little wild.  Perfect to read during this wonderful time of year.

7.  Something Strange and Deadly by Susan Dennard

9859436

Okay, so this has the dead coming back to life need I say more?  Normally I’m not a fan of the dead and things that resemble zombies but if the plot sounds good and I think I can handle it then I am game.

6. Blackbrooke by Emma Silver

15698191

Monster like creatures called Crits haunt the town of Blackbrooke once the sun goes down. This is the perfect book to curl up with and for sure will keep you up at night.  Even the cover guarantees that this book is going to be bloody and dark.

5. Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins

5287473

A school for delinquent Prodigium (AKA the fancy word for supernautrals) is for sure a good choice for this month.  Also there’s the fact that murders keep happening and all fingers point to the lone vampire student and Sophie’s only friend.  Quite an enjoyable read and one that has a ton of twists and turns that will leave you on the edge of your seat.

4. Marked by P.C. and Kristen Cast

30183

Vampyres may not be everyone’s cup of tea and that’s okay.  I liked the House of Night series because it took a new spin on vampires or vampyres as they are known in this series.  Follow Zoey’s journey as she learns to navigate the dangerous waters of becoming a fully fledge vampyre and dealing with her crazy ex, a new enemy, and trying not to die before she can reach vampyre maturity.

3. The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson

51496

This is one of my favorite classics, and it deals with a man who has to deal with his light and dark side.  Dr. Jekyll is the good one who unleashes Mr. Hyde the dark and evil other side of Dr. Jekyll.   Think of Hyde and Jeykll like Miley and Hannah Montana he’s got the best of both worlds.

2. Monster High by Lisi Harris

7823524

Yes this is a doll line, and no this is different from the Monster High movies.  This follows the journey Frankie Stein who was made fifteen days ago, seriously.  She is the daughter of Frankenstien’s monster I believe or Frankenstien himself (I don’t quite remember).  And since she is a monster the humans can’t know about her so she has to wear makeup so her green complexion doesn’t scare the others.  Humans can’t know about monsters, and while this might not be a scary read it’s still enjoyable and you can follow the paths of your favorite monsters’ children as they try and deal with the real world.

1.  Some Girls Bite by Chloe Neill

8856528

I know I said A Discovery of Witches was my all time favorite book but this bad boy right here is also one of my all time favorite books.  Merit is turned into a vampire against her wishes (they did it to save her life but that doesn’t mean she likes it), and has to deal with becoming a new vampire along with the fact that there’s a vampire murderer out there.  This book is filled with witty humor and supernaturals galore.  Plus Merit is a leather clad, katana wielding badass.  So follow her journey into the wonderful immortal life of a vampire who has to deal with crazy vampire murderers and other supernatural problems.  Oh and did I mention her social climbing family?  Things are about to get good.

So there you have it, my top ten books to read during the month of October.  Do you have anything you liked to read during October?  Comment below and let me know!

**All pictures were taken from Goodreads

Leave a Reply

