Reviews

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone By J.K. Rowling

3

Guess what day it is?  That’s right it is September 1st the day we all return to Hogwarts!  So pull out your wands, crack open those spell books, put on your robes, and let’s do this!

I jumped onto the Hogwarts Express a little late in life.  I was like the only kid that did not want to read or watch the Harry Potter series.   Partly because my grandmother was really religious and so was my school and they banned it.  Then on my birthday about four years ago my friend came over and we had a Harry Potter marathon and I became a fan.  I dived off the deep end to be honest, but hey it’s Harry Potter, it’s awesome.

I wish that I had read this sooner because this series was awesome, I haven’t finished it yet.  I’m on the sixth book, but I love it!  The same friend got me a time turner for my birthday, she’s awesome like that.

So I loved the first book.  I loved following Harry’s journey as he learned that he was a wizard and he gets to go to this awesomesauce school where you can practice magic, it made me jealous.  This guy gets to learn spells and potions and flying and I’m over here learning math and English and all this other stuff that is super boring compared to what Harry’s learning.  Things get a little crazy at Hogwarts though because someone is trying to steal the Sorcerer’s Stone and Harry’s lightning bolt scar keeps hurting.  Come to find out Voldemort is trying to make a comeback and it’s up to Harry, Hermione, and Ron to stop him because that makes a lot of sense, three eleven year olds are supposed to stop one of the most powerful wizards of all time, but hey they manage to do it.

I loved the characters a lot, I love how smart Hermione is, how funny Ron is, and how Harry cares about his friends.  And Dumbledore is awesome like I wish he was my Headmaster.  I hated the Dursleys like they were just d*cks.  Draco was also a d*ck, he was so entitled and I wanted to strangle him.

From what I can remember the movie was pretty close to the books which is like super rare.  I mean I think we can all agree that we cringe when we hear our favorite books are being made into movies.  We’re excited but at the same time we wonder how they are going to butcher our favorite stories.  For the most part they did okay with the first movie.  I’d have to read the book and watch the movie again thought to be 100% sure.

I highly recommend this book.  I absolutely loved every minute of it and I hate that I got into this so late because I feel like I missed out on something.  I’m just glad that the Harry Potter fandom is still going strong to this day.  I went to a midnight event for The Cursed Child and to see my generation and the younger generation there was just awesome.  I couldn’t stop smiling, and I loved every minute of it.

So if you haven’t read it go and get it because you should at least give it a try before writing it off like I did for years.

Rating: Five Stars

Photo taken from Goodreads.com

Leave a Reply

